2019 Eugene Garfield Award for
Innovation in Citation Analysis


Dr. Eugene Garfield pioneered the practice of citation analysis and informetrics, developing numerous citation databases that changed how scientists find and assess scholarly literature, including the Web of Science.  To honor his legacy, the Web of Science Group established the Eugene Garfield Award for Innovation in Citation Analysis in 2017. Learn more about Dr. Garfield and his pioneering work here.

Upon receiving the award this year, Dr. Erjia Yan said, “This award happened at an important moment, as I have adopted new career goals after getting tenure at Drexel University. I aim to build a research profile that uses citation data not just to describe the research landscape but to conduct citation-supported inferences that help stakeholders and constituents make informed science policy decisions. With the support of this award and particularly the high quality Web of Science data, I can advance my research through the design and development of high-impact bibliometric research that draws audiences across discipline boundaries - a lifetime goal for me.”

The winner was announced at the ISSI Conference in Rome in September.

2019 Award Winner

We are delighted to announce that Dr Erjia Yan, Associate Professor of Information Science at the Drexel University College of Computing and Informatics,  has been selected as the recipient of the 2019 Eugene Garfield Awards for Innovation in Citation Analysis.

Dr Yan will use the award to examine semi-structured or unstructured bibliometric fields, including titles, abstracts and keywords (as opposed to the traditional units, journal associations or authorship) to make sense of bibliometric indicators and numbers. His research will help to provide a vital empirical foundation for many facets of scientific activity, such as the promotion of innovation; better and more transparent science policymaking and the development of an equitable and sustainable scientific workforce.

Dr Erjia Yan, Drexel University said: “I have always been fascinated by citation data, because I believe that by analysing data we can shed light on how science is carried out and understand how scientists work."

Dr Yan will receive $25,000 of unrestricted prize money and access to the Web of Science, the world's largest publisher-neutral citation index. Dr Yan will also have the opportunity to collaborate with the prestigious Institute for Scientific Information (ISI), which was originally established in 1960 by Dr Eugene Garfield. The ISI focuses on the development of existing and new scientometric approaches.

Learn About Past Winners:

Leiden University

2019 Award Details

This year's winner was announced at the ISSI Conference in Rome in September.

The award amount is $25k USD, paid in a single installment. In addition to the award, the Web of Science Group provides the successful applicant with research access to a selection of Web of Science data.

A review committee evaluates applications for novelty, utility and innovation, and announces the winner publicly in August/ September each year.

Applicants must be an early-career researcher, no more than PhD + 10 years at the time of application.

Download Application Forms